8:30 a.m. - Welcome Remarks

  • John Degnan, Chairman, The Port Authority of New York & New Jersey
  • Elliot Sander, Chairman, Regional Plan Association; President & CEO, I-Grace

9:00 a.m. - Session I: Understanding the Challenge & Developing Solutions

The first morning session will begin with presentations by each of the transportation agency co-sponsors that focus on a different aspect of the trans-Hudson challenge. Presentations will reference potential solutions to expand capacity in trans-Hudson crossings and facilities for further discussion, including the costs and benefits of proposed projects.


  • Thomas Wright, President, Regional Plan Association


  • Amtrak
  • New Jersey
  • New York
  • The Port Authority of New York & New Jersey

- Break -

10:15 a.m. - Session II: Building a Federal, Bi-State & Local Partnership

The panelists from Session I will be joined by additional panelist representing other partners in addressing the trans-Hudson challenge, for a moderated discussion of potential solutions and a process for moving forward.


  • Thomas Wright, President, Regional Plan Association

Amtrak Panelists

  • Anthony Coscia, Chairman of the Board
  • Stephen Gardner, Vice President, NECIID
  • Drew Galloway, Chief  of Planning & Performance, NECIID

New Jersey Panelists

  • Veronique Hakim, Executive Director, NJ Transit
  • Rich Roberts, Chief Planner, NJ Transit

New York Panelists

  • Polly Trottenberg, Commissioner, New York City Department of Transportation
  • Thomas Prendergast, Chairman & CEO, Metropolitan Transportation Authority
  • Bill Wheeler, Director of Planning, Metropolitan Transportation Authority

Port Authority Panelists

  • John Degnan, Chairman
  • Patrick Foye, Executive Director
  • Andrew Lynn, Director, Planning & Regional Development

Additional Panelists

  • Joel Ettinger, Executive Director, New York Metropolitan Transportation Council
  • Mary K. Murphy, Executive Director, North Jersey Transportation Planning Authority
  • Martin Robins, Founding Director, Voorhees Transportation Center, Rutgers University
  • Peter Rogoff, Under Secretary of Transportation for Policy, U.S. Department of Transportation

- Questions & Answers -

Back to Agenda